Author Topic: Rook problem  (Read 4182 times)

yammerhammer

  • Probe
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Rook problem
« on: September 29, 2006, 08:58:56 PM »
Ok. I'll try to be as short as possible. I just purchased a new pc. I've played rook on my old pc many times with no problem running windows 98. Now my new pc has XP and the site asks for my password and takes it then ask me what lobby I want to go to. When I choose a lobby it just brings up a blank screen with a small square with a red x in the upper left hand corner and says done at the bottom left. I know it's some kind of setting I need to change but I'm clueless. Any help appreciated.

matlu

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1390
    • Email
Re: Rook problem
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2006, 09:47:53 PM »
you need to install java
http://java.com/getjava

Dodger

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3276
    • Email
Re: Rook problem
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2006, 12:37:38 AM »
...  :-[ Why did you delete my post? It said the same as yours...Just a little, blunter...

yammerhammer

  • Probe
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Rook problem
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2006, 10:02:45 PM »
I did install java as it was the first thing it said to do if it didnt load, but no difference. Anything else it might be?

yammerhammer

  • Probe
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Rook problem
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2006, 10:17:40 PM »
Nevermind. I was doing something wrong when I was downloading. I got it on there now and it works fine. Thank you for the help.

matlu

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1390
    • Email
Re: Rook problem
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2006, 09:16:00 AM »
Quote
it just brings up a blank screen with a small square with a red x in the upper left hand corner


this "red cross" is always a sign that the java is not properly installed. Glad it works now.

Quote
Why did you delete my post? It said the same as yours...Just a little, blunter...

I replaced it with better link leading directly to download. Your link led to general java page.